February 11, 2016 Investigative Report I2016-1
The Governor of California
President pro Tempore of the Senate
Speaker of the Assembly
Sacramento, California 95814
Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:
Pursuant to the California Whistleblower Protection Act, the California State Auditor (state auditor) presents this investigative report summarizing investigations that were completed between July 2015 and December 2015 concerning allegations of improper governmental activities.
This report details 10 substantiated allegations involving several state agencies. Through our investigations, we found misuse of state resources, forgery, false time reporting, violations of financial interests disclosure, and waste of state funds. In total, we identified $372,000 in wasted funds, financial interests not disclosed, and misuse of state time and resources.
For example, four psychiatrists at Patton State Hospital failed to work sufficient hours when they regularly averaged from 22 to 29 hours of work per week from July 2014 through June 2015 rather than the 40‑hour per week average required by their collective bargaining agreement. In total, these psychiatrists worked 2,254 fewer hours than necessary to average 40 hours per week at a total cost to the State of $296,800. In another example during the same one‑year period, the Porterville Developmental Center failed to charge 566 hours of leave to 12 employees who missed scheduled nine‑hour or 10‑hour workdays but were only charged for eight hours of leave. These wasted funds totaled $25,600.
At California Correctional Health Care Services a supervising nurse, who also serves in the United State military reserve force, forged military documents and deceived Correctional Health Care Services regarding the dates of his reservist duties. As a result of his dishonesty, the supervising nurse received compensation and benefits totaling $6,000 to which he was not entitled.
State agencies must report to the state auditor any corrective or disciplinary action taken in response to recommendations made by the state auditor. Their first report is due no later than 60 days after we notify the agency or authority of the improper activity and monthly thereafter until corrective action is completed.
ELAINE M. HOWLE, CPA