**Table 17**State Bar Oversight Fees Increased and Differ by Accreditation Status and Student Body Size

|  | 2018<br>FEE AMOUNTS |                         | 2023 AND 2024<br>FEE AMOUNTS |                         |                                   |
|--|---------------------|-------------------------|------------------------------|-------------------------|-----------------------------------|
|  | ANNUAL FEE          | INSPECTION <sup>†</sup> | ANNUAL FEE                   | INSPECTION <sup>†</sup> | STUDENTS<br>ENROLLED <sup>§</sup> |
| Examples of Unaccredited Schools*              |                     |                         |                              |                         |                                   |
| Taft Law School                                | \$1,090             | \$9,000                 | \$7,500                      | \$30,000                | 93                                |
| California Desert Trial Academy College of Law | 1,090               | 9,000                   | 7,500                        | 30,000                  | 23                                |
| Western Sierra Law School                      | 725                 | 6,925                   | 5,000                        | 22,500                  | 17                                |
| Examples of CALS**                             |                     |                         |                              |                         |                                   |
| Trinity Law School                             | 2,170               | 22,000                  | 23,934                       | 37,500                  | 396                               |
| Empire College School of Law                   | 2,170               | 22,000                  | 2,901                        | 37,500                  | 48                                |
| JFK School of Law at National University       | 2,170               | 22,000                  | 6,225                        | 37,500                  | 103                               |

Source: The State Bar's accounting records, the State Bar's internal school records, the State Bar's Schedule of Charges and Deadlines, and Rules of the State Bar of California.

<sup>\*</sup> Fees for unaccredited schools and CALS in this table changed in 2023 and 2024, respectively.

<sup>†</sup> Inspection fees are due around the time of inspection and are not assessed annually. Each CALS is subject to inspection at least once every five to seven years and each unaccredited school must be inspected at least once every five years.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>‡</sup> For CALS, previous inspection fees were paid in annual installments as prepayments of \$4,400. For the purposes of this table, we calculated the total inspection costs for the schools listed, assuming that there were no additional costs incurred for time and expenses and that the inspections occurred after five years of annual prepayments.

<sup>§</sup> The student enrollment numbers are accurate as of 2023, with some updated information provided by the State Bar in 2024. Official 2024 enrollment numbers were not available at the time of auditor analysis.